Recent Accolades

February 2015

Wine Spectator Scores for our 2012 Rieslings

The February 2015 issue of Wine Spectator Magazine reviewed our single-vineyard and estate Rieslings from the 2012 vintage. Five of our Rieslings received scores of 90 points or higher including a 93 for our Noble Select Magdalena Vineyard Riesling 2012.

To view larger image Click Here

February 2015

Wine Enthusiast: Top Wine Getaways- Finger Lakes

Wine Enthusiast Magazine highlights top wine destinations around the world, including the Finger Lakes, in their February 2015 travel issue. Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard is mentioned as a must-taste location and “one of the best ambassadors of Finger Lakes Riesling.”

To view larger image Click Here

November 2014

Somm Journal Interview with Oskar Bynke

Oskar Bynke, co-owner of Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard, gave an interview for Somm Journal in the October/November issue. He spoke with Jonathan Cristaldi about vineyard sites and management and how they translate to our wines, as well as our unique nursery business.

To view larger image, click here.

To read the online version visit here.

November 2014

Wiemer Wines Highlighted in Thanksgiving Issues

Both Food & Wine and Bon Appetit magazines featured Hermann J. Wiemer in their Thanksgiving issues. Ray Isle from Food & Wine looks at the “The New US Wine Map” and highlights Hermann J. Wiemer as a standout producer from the Finger Lakes. He held a blind tasting that compared our wine with top Riesling producers from well established regions around the world with outstanding results. David Lynch from Bon Appetit presents a Thanksgiving wine game plan that includes a Wiemer Dry Riesling.

Thanksgiving Issues

 

October 2014

Top 100 Wineries by Wine & Spirits Magazine

Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard has received the prestigious honor of being named among the Top 100 Wineries of the year by Wine & Spirits magazine for 2014. The list is determined by those wineries that have delivered the best overall performances in the Wine & Spirits tastings throughout the year. Six of our Rieslings received a score of 91 points or higher (see more in our news section). The full list of Top 100 wineries can be found at

http://www.wineandspiritsmagazine.com/top100/wineries.html

We will be present at the celebrated Wine & Spirits Top 100 Tasting in San Francisco on October 21, 2014. “Celebrating the 11th anniversary; Wine & Spirits Top 100 Tasting Event honors those wineries from around the world that delivered the best overall performances in Wine & Spirits tastings throughout the year.” This is the sixth consecutive year that we have received this honor.

W&S – Top 100 Wineries 

September 2014

Wine Spectator Highlights Hermann J. Wiemer Winemaker

Riesling Revolution:  “Fred Merwarth of Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard leads the Finger Lakes’ quality revolution” said Esther Mobley, Wine Spectator assistant editor. Esther sat down and spoke with Fred regarding Hermann J. Wiemer Winery, Vineyards, and the Finger Lakes. 

Wine Spectator September 2014

August 2014

Wine & Spirits Reviews our 2012 Rieslings

The August 2014 issue of Wine & Spirits Magazine reviewed the “Year’s Best Finger Lakes” wines.  A blind panel tasted 206 new-release Finger Lakes wines and selected 6 of our Rieslings to be rated 90 points or higher.

Wine & Spirits 2014

July 2014

Wine Enthusiast Reviews our 2012 Rieslings

The July 2014 issue of Wine Enthusiast Magazine has recently reviewed our 2012 Rieslings.  Five Rieslings are rated 90 points or higher.

Wine Enthusiast 2014 

 

April 2014

Wiemer Vineyard featured in United Magazine

“Three Perfect Days:  Finger Lakes” is the title of the 10 page article written by Rohan Kamicheril for the April 2014 issue of Hemispheres, United Airline’s in-flight magazine.  This article highlights the Finger Lakes’ stunning natural beauty and flourishing food and wine scene.  We are grateful to be featured on pg. 109 as “Glass Acts”!

Three Perfect Days Full Article
HJW Feature Article

Cover Page_Hemispheres

February 2014

Wine Business Monthly – Riesling Varietal Review

In the January 2014 edition of Wine Business Monthly, the editors offered a Varietal Focus on Riesling.  They looked at three distinctive regions across the US, New York, Oregon and Washington, and selected three producers from each region.  Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard was chosen as one of the NY producers.  The winemaker submitted a Riesling and was asked to comment after tasting his or her counterpart’s wine.  Click here to read the article.  We have also included the Data Sheet which offers a tremendous amount of information regarding each wine, vintage and winemaker’s notes.

WBMJan2014_Riesling (1)

WBMJan2014_RieslingMatrix

September 2013

Wine Spectator’s – Critics’ Choice Grand Tasting

Hermann J. Wiemer Vineyard has been invited to represent at Wine Spectator’s Wine Experience Critics’ Choice Grand Tasting in NYC on October 24th and 25th. This is the second time we have been selected as one of the 250 great estates & châteaus from the world’s best winegrowing regions.

All the invited wineries and châteaus were selected by Wine Spectator’s board of editors and have earned the Critics’ Choice Award. This walk-around event is considered one of most respectable and exclusive tastings in the wine tasting world.

We will be pouring the “Hermann J. Wiemer Nobel Select Riesling Josef Vineyard 2010” which is one of our very rare dessert wines and which will be released that day.  It received a 92 point rating at the Spectators panel tasting earlier this year.

September 2013

Top 100 Winery of 2013 by Wine and Spirits

Wiemer Vineyards has been awarded as one of the world’s top 100 wineries by the magazine five years running.  “Given the vintage it’s clear that both Magdalena and HJW wines exhibit a mastery of blending, both demonstrating an uncommon tension between the clean-drawn fruit flavors and more complex exotic accents – the gift of botrytis – both grounded by an unyielding mineral line.  Both wines bear the sort of complexity that comes from a vintage of unprecedented challenges.”

January 2013

2012 Sommelier Choice Nominee

Nominated for Sommelier Journal’s 2012 Choice Awards.

“Very hedonistic, with the kind of tropical fruit that makes people smile. Its sweetness ensures an easy sell.” – Marine Old, Contributing Editor

August 2012

American Winery of the Year Nominee – Wine Enthusiast Magazine

“Having helped bolster the Finger Lakes reputation for winemaking and viticulture, Hermann J. Wiemer continues to produce some of the states most noteworthy Riesling.”-Wine Enthusiast’s 2012 Wine Star Awards

 

August 2012

Hermann Digs Deep into Terrior with Wine & Spirits Magazine

The Fall 2012 edition of Wine & Spirits brilliantly outlines terrior around the world. Hermann Wiemer was graciously chosen as a “new world dirt prophet,” representing the Finger Lakes wine region.

Wine & Spirits Fall 2012

August 2012

“The Year’s Best US Rieslings” -Wine & Spirits Magazine

Thank you Wine & Spirits Magazine for the great scores:

92 Points- HJW Vineyard Dry Riesling 2010

91 Points- Magdalena Vineyard Dry Riesling 2010

91 Points- Dry Riesling 2010

Wine & Spirits August 2012

October 2010

Wine & Spirits Magazine gives Hermann J. Wiemer 2008 Record scorings

August issue of Wine & Spirits Magazine rates 7 of our Riesling over 90 points!

February 2010

Roberts Parker’s Wine Buyer’s Guide 7th Edition (2009)

Hermann J. Wiemer receives “5 Stars – excellent rating” as one of the top producers in the state of New York.

May 2009

2008 Wiemer Rieslings Reach New Heights

Herman J. Wiemer earns 90, 90, 91, 92, and a 92 from Wine Spectator.

July 2008

Chef David Bouley’s Test Kitchen, New York, NY

Top Chef David Bouley in New York City invited guest to his Test Kitchen in Tribeca to experience a 6-course menu and wine pairing featuring the wines of Hermann J. Wiemer. The menu composed using local and seasonal ingredients. The guests at this sold out event enjoyed an incredible experience, matching Hermann J. Wiemer wines with one of America’s best chefs!

February 2008

Gary Vaynerchuk Library TV 2008 episode # 409

“Hermann J. Wiemer is a producer of extremely good wine.… one of the great producers in the world!!! … These wines are just so good… The Gewurztraminer is a good effort, and even better than most Alsatians… a beautiful wine…”

Top↑